The Early Years Foundation Stage

At Abbeywood Tots we have been implementing Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum since the programme was introduced to every Early Years setting in 2008.

What is the Early Years Foundation stage?

It is a government framework that focuses on children’s individual development to ensure children have the very best start in life. It combines best early years practice and provides a more cohesive approach to the child’s individual development, care and Learning.

7 areas of learning and development stages for early years

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and designs.

How does it work?

Each child within the nursery is assigned to a key person who creates an individual plan for them to be monitored over the course of a few weeks. It is reviewed by observations and child’s interests.

Their learning journey will be documented and will be shared with parents at the end of every session to discuss the child’s activities in nursery and their development.

Learning Through Play

Each week there is a new topic that the children focus on that is based on previous observations observed and covers many of the learning and development stages mentioned below.

Through various learning environment and adult led activities we create effective and interesting learning environment and Curriculum so the children’s personal, physical, social and emotional development is enhanced.

Get in touch

Find out more about the Early Years Foundation Stage

We would love to hear from you about any questions and of course getting your child into one of our nurseries near you
Get in touch